Scholarship Awards Program

Dr. Felix Agcaoili Memorial Scholar

UCSF students Marycon Chin Jiro, recipient of the Dr. Felix Agcaoili Memorial Scholarship and Xavier Cortez, recipient of the Dr. Jose A. Rodriguez Scholarship. Both Marycon and Xavier are medical students.

The PMSNC Scholarship Awards Program was created in 1986 by Dr. Lourdes Olivares-Agcaoili at the request of PMSNC President Dr. William Candelario. The scholarship awards are granted to three Filipino American students every year. A scholarship committee selects the awardees based on their financial need and scholastic rating. Originally, the society held annual fundraising campaigns to fund the scholarship grants, until 1989 when Dr. Jose Rodriquez established the PMSNC Scholarship Endowment Fund. The goal was to raise and invest $50,000 and use the dividends as the source of the scholarship grants. $27,540 of the initial amount was donated to the Endowment Fund in honor of the late Dr. Felix Agcaoili.

The three scholarship awards today are the "Dr. Felix Agcaoili Memorial Scholarship", the "Dr. Jose Rodriguez Scholarship" and the "Dr. Rodolfo S. Duterte Scholarship".


  • Applicant must be an American of Filipino heritage
  • Applicant must be currently enrolled at an accredited medical school in Northern California (UCSF, UCD and Stanford University)

Criteria for eligibility is also based on a student's financial need and scholastic rating.

If you would like to apply for a scholarship grant, fill out an application form online.